Al Attiyah takes the reins

Nasser Al Attiyah came flying out of the blocks with his Ford Fiesta R5 and was fastest after the morning loop of the 2017 Cyprus Rally. The Qatari driver, who did not take part in Cyprus last year, is showing his trademark consistency and speed in every stage so far. He was fastest on 2 of the 3 Special Stages. Kajetan Kajetanowicz, also with a Ford Fiesta R5 finished the morning loop in second place, even though he was sixth in the running order. Third fastest of the morning stages was Nikolay Gryazin who won the first stage of the rally. He sits 2.7 seconds away from second place Kajetanowicz..

The second stage of the rally had to be cancelled after a car was immobilized on the twisty “G. Kyprianou” Stage in Lefkara and could not be moved away in time. Drivers were then directed straight to Cytanet Analiontas for SS3. Fourth fastest of the morning was Alexandros Tsouloftas, followed by Charalampos Timotheou. The two had a spectacular battle through the first two stages, before Tsouloftas had a broken gear shifter in the CNP Asfalistiki Super Special Stage and had to finish the stage using only second gear. Although Timotheou is second among the Cypriot crews it should be noted that he is sixth overall. Fifth overall is Bruno Magalhaes, and the Portuguese driver finds himself between the two Cypriots, all of which are within 1.8 seconds of each other.

The Azores winner had a bad morning after being stuck behind Murat Bostanci, who had to change a tyre in the first stage of the day. This had cost him precious time and pace in his fight with Kajetanowicz for this year’s title in the ERC. In seventh place was Antonin Tlustak with a Skoda Fabia R5, while Panikos Polykarpou is eighth. Rauf Denktas is ninth and Michael Poseidias is tenth.

Following the noon Service, the cars will head out again to repeat all of the stages from the morning loop, with the CNP Asfalistiki Super Special Stage starting at 16:59.

Overall Classification after SS4
1. Ν. Al-Attiyah – Mathhieu Baumel – Ford Fiesta R5 - 43:27.9
2. Kajetan Kajetanowicz – Jaroslava Baran – Ford Fiesta R5 – 43:44.6
3. Nikolay Gryazin – Yaroslav Fedorov – Skoda Fabia R5 43:447.0
4. Alexandros Tsouloftas – Stelios Elia–Citroen DS3 R5 – 44:44.2
5. Bruno Magalhaes – Hugo Magalhaes – Skoda Fabia R5 – 44:44.9
6. Charalambos Timotheou– Christos Kouzionis – Skoda Fabia R5 - 44:46.0
7. Antonin Tlustak – Ivo Vybiral – Skoda Fabia R5 – 45:22.2
8. Panicos Polykarpou– Gerald Winter – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 – 45:25.3
9. Rauf Denktash – Dervis Bora Savarona – Ford Fiesta R5 – 45:32.8
10.Michalis Posidias – George Alexandrou – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 10 – 45:49.2

SS.1 Kalo Chorio
1. N. Gryazin 12:46.2
2. Ν. Αl Attiyah 12:46.3
3. K. Kajetanowicz 12:56.3

S.S 3 Cytanet Analiontas 1
1. N. Al Attiyah 9:29.4
2. K. Kajetanowicz 9:34.5
3. N. Gryazin 9:47.3

S.S 4 CNP Asfalistiki Super Special Stage 1
1. Ν. Al Attiyah 3:31.7
2. N. Gryazin 3:30.0
3. K. Kajetanowicz 3:33.0