Alexey Lukyanuk wins the qualifying stage of the CNP AFALISTIKI Cyprus Rally

Alexey Lukyanuk wins the qualifying stage

Russia's Alexey Lukyanuk and his co-driver Alexey Arnautov in a Ford Fiesta R5 car won the qualifying stage of the CNP ASFALISTIKI Cyprus Rally at Agios Sozomeno, obtaining the right to choose first from which position he will start the race.

Lukyanuk, who he is currently second in the European Rally Championship standings, completed the 4.5 km-long stage in 2: 43.176. Second with a difference of just 0.9 seconds, the Latvian Nikolay Gryazin with his Russian co-driver Yaroslav Fedorov in a Skoda Fabia R5. The top three completed by the duo from Hungary, David Botka and Peter Szeles with Citroën DS3 with difference 2.26 seconds from first.

In fourth place, the German Marijan Griebel with his compatriot co-driver Pirmin Winklhofer with Skoda Fabia R5, while the top five completed by Ralfs Simarcis and Artur Siminis from Latvia. In sixth place was the team Greece crew with Lambros Athanasoulas and Chris on board a Ford Fiesta R5.

In seventh place and first among Cypriots crews was Christos Dimosthenous with Pambos Laos alongside him followed  by Panicos Polycarpou and his co-driver Gerald Winter both with Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9. In ninth place Costas Zenonos - Fanos Christphi also on board a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9.  Finally the top ten completed by Chips Junior Antonis Chrysostomou, again with Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9.

Drivers will choose their starting position in the race based on their ranking in the qualifying stage. The number selection process based on time in qualifying special will be held on the premises of the Press Office at the Filoxenia conference center at 13:30, followed by a press conference.


Press Office

nikolay-gryazin christos-demosthenous alexey-lukyanuc

Download Article and Photos